Dermatologists Can Set Example for Civil Discourse

In this season of Thanksgiving, we are grateful to live in a country where freedom of speech is a Constitutional right. We also believe that with such freedom comes the responsibility to respect the opinions and perspectives of others. In fact, we are all stronger and wiser when we listen to one another and thoughtfully consider differing perspectives. 

As tragic events unfold around the world, a disheartening increase in hateful rhetoric is appearing on social media platforms and other public places. 

We are proud of the professionalism displayed by the vast majority of physicians, especially our certified dermatologists. We promise to set an example of civil discourse and respectful expression of opinions and perspectives, and we encourage all of you, our colleagues, to share in this endeavor. 

Whether we took the Hippocratic Oath or the Declaration of Geneva, we promised to “do no harm,” and to “maintain the utmost respect for human life.” As physicians, and as dermatologists certified by the ABD, we have an obligation and duty to respect the feelings and dignity of others by expressing our opinions in a professional manner. We urge us all to keep others in mind – especially our patients -- as we exercise our freedom of speech.


Your ABD Board of Directors and Executive Team

Carl V. Washington, MD, President
Moise L. Levy, MD, Vice President
Tammie C. Ferringer, MD
Anna L. Bruckner, MD
Warren R. Heymann, MD
Christine J. Ko, MD
Allison T. Vidimos, MD
Christopher K. Bichakjian, MD
Keith Choate, MD
Karynne O. Duncan, MD
David M. Allen, MD
Mercedes E. Gonzalez, MD
Delphine J. Lee, MD
Kanade Shinkai, MD
Ryan W. Hick, MD
Mary Gail Mercurio, MD
Jerry Brewer, MD, MS
Andrea Zaenglean, MD
Jason Castillo, MD, Young Diplomate Observer
Aileen Shinaman, JD, Public Member
Randall K. Roenigk, MD, Executive Director
Stanley J. Miller, MD, Associate Executive Director, Continuing Certification
Marta J. Petersen, MD, Associate Executive Director, Candidate, Program and Diplomate Relations
Julie V. Schaffer, MD, Associate Executive Director, Exam Development
Erik J. Stratman, MD, Associate Executive Director, Continuous Program Improvement and Research