New Executive Leadership Team - July 2021

We are pleased to announce the selection of Dr. Randall K. Roenigk as the new Executive Director, effective July 1, 2021. 

This announcement comes after a nationwide search conducted by the ABD Board of Directors, with support from an outside executive search firm. The Board of Directors considered several candidates and hired Dr. Roenigk based on his experience and vision for the future. 

Most recently, Dr. Roenigk served as the ABD's Assistant Executive Director (2013-2021), where he represented the ABD within the ABMS Member Boards community, supporting the MDS subspecialty certification approval, and overseeing matters related to continuing certification. Before that, he served as an ABD Director (2001-2009) and President (2009).

As we welcome Dr. Roenigk, we extend our gratitude to Dr. Thomas Horn for the more than two decades of leadership he provided. During his tenure, Dr. Horn led the implementation of the Exam of the Future, the new staged pathway for initial certification; launched CertLink, a longitudinal assessment platform for our diplomates; introduced a new MDS subspecialty certification; streamlined our MOC requirements; and launched a new, user-friendly website. His innovative leadership ensured the ABD's certification and MOC activities are relevant, convenient, and help our diplomates provide the best dermatological care to their patients. We will remain forever grateful for Dr. Horn's guidance, commitment to innovation and resilience during his tenure. 

Upon assuming the role of Executive Director, Dr. Roenigk's priorities will be to expand the use of technology in certification and MOC activities, redesign the ABD's governance to prioritize input from our diplomates and advocacy efforts on their behalf, and engage in a strategic planning process to ensure the future of the ABD reflects that of the practice of dermatology. 

With the support and approval of the BOD, Dr. Roenigk assembled a robust Executive Leadership Team to promote the ABD's mission and to cover key initiatives:

Dr. Stanley Miller - Associate Executive Director, Continuing Certification

Dr. Marta Petersen - Associate Executive Director, Candidate, Program and Diplomate Relations

Dr. Julie Schaffer - Associate Executive Director, Exam Development

Dr. Lela Lee - Senior Executive Consultant

Dr. Thomas Horn - Emeritus Executive Director

This expanded team positions us well to serve the public by promoting high standards to earn and maintain Board certification while simultaneously forging a partnership with our diplomates to promote valuable and meaningful ways to uphold their certification. Please join us in proudly welcoming the new Executive Leadership Team.